This is the "Home" page of the "Religious Studies: A Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religious Studies: A Resource Guide   Tags: bible, biblical studies, buddhism, christianity, databases, hinduism, islam, judaism, religion, religious studies, resources  

This guide contains information about good sources to use when conducting research into topics within religious studies.
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.edgewood.edu/religious_studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Edgewood Catalog

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
John Elliott
Contact Info
For immediate help, use Ask a Librarian.

606-663-3284
Send Email

Core Resources

Try these resources to start, or click the tabs above if you know what type of resource you need.

Useful Websites

  • The Puralism Project at Harvard University
    Offers advice on how to conduct research into modern religion in America, as well as demographic reports and field reports of religious practices. Its goal is to promote interfaith understanding and dialogue.
  • Virtual Religion Index
    A large collection of recommended websites about numerous aspects of religion. Their Academic Sites section is especially good, and contains University run religion projects and a list of academic religious societies.
  • Internet Sacred Text Archive
    The largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. A great place to find sacred scriptures for almost any religion.
  • Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
    This website contains independent polling, research, media analysis, and information-sharing in four main areas as they relate to religion: politics, law, domestic policy, and world affairs. It is balanced and in depth, and breaks down its content by topics like Abortion, the Death Penalty and Homosexuality.
  • Counterbalance
    This library offers an immense range of topics, including the creation of the world, evolution, the relationship of humans to the environment, genetic research, the conflict between fundamentalism and science, and ethical issues. All the articles contain good bibliographies and most are written by experts in the subject.
  • Association of Religious Data Archives
    Useful for sociology of religion as well as general overviews of religious statistics, religious demographics, and how religion in America and the world is practiced, viewed and observed. Scholarly papers are included. Also provides guidelines on how to conduct more scientific research about religion.

Need more help?

Enter your question.  If an answer isn't in our FAQ, you can email us.

 

Ask a Librarian

Call (608) 663-3300 during library hours

Fill out the Ask a Librarian email form

Text your question to (608) 554‑1480

Make an appointment to chat with a librarian using Skype

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip