Edgewood Catalog
Subject Librarian
Links: Profile & Guides |
Core Resources
Try these resources to start, or click the tabs above if you know what type of resource you need.
- ATLA - American Theological AssociationThis database contains citations, some in full text, for articles, books and dissertations concerning religion. It is especially good for Biblical Studies, Christian Theology, and Ministry. A neat feature of this database is that you can search by scriptural verse.
- Catholic Periodical and Literature IndexAn Index of articles, from both scholarly and popular Catholic journals and book chapters, all dealing with Catholicism in some way. Great for Catholic theology, practice and history.
- Academic Search CompleteWhile not only about religion, this database is a great interdisciplinary tool indexing over 3,200 journals. I find it especially good for topics of mythology and for religions besides Islam, Christianity, and Judaism.
- New Catholic encyclopediaThe online version of this reference work.
- Encyclopaedia JudaicaThis is the online version of this reference work.
- Encyclopedia of BuddhismThis is the online version of this reference work.
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim worldThis is the online version of this reference work.
- Encyclopedia of religionThis is the online version of this reference work.
Useful Websites
- The Puralism Project at Harvard UniversityOffers advice on how to conduct research into modern religion in America, as well as demographic reports and field reports of religious practices. Its goal is to promote interfaith understanding and dialogue.
- Virtual Religion IndexA large collection of recommended websites about numerous aspects of religion. Their Academic Sites section is especially good, and contains University run religion projects and a list of academic religious societies.
- Religious WorldsAnother online portal to a lot of websites about every religion, as well as a description of each link. A good place to find background information on a new topic.
- Internet Sacred Text ArchiveThe largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. A great place to find sacred scriptures for almost any religion.
- Pew Forum on Religion and Public LifeThis website contains independent polling, research, media analysis, and information-sharing in four main areas as they relate to religion: politics, law, domestic policy, and world affairs. It is balanced and in depth, and breaks down its content by topics like Abortion, the Death Penalty and Homosexuality.
- CounterbalanceThis library offers an immense range of topics, including the creation of the world, evolution, the relationship of humans to the environment, genetic research, the conflict between fundamentalism and science, and ethical issues. All the articles contain good bibliographies and most are written by experts in the subject.
- Association of Religious Data ArchivesUseful for sociology of religion as well as general overviews of religious statistics, religious demographics, and how religion in America and the world is practiced, viewed and observed. Scholarly papers are included. Also provides guidelines on how to conduct more scientific research about religion.
Need more help?
Enter your question. If an answer isn't in our FAQ, you can email us.
Ask a Librarian
Call (608) 663-3300 during library hours
Fill out the Ask a Librarian email form
Text your question to (608) 554‑1480
Make an appointment to chat with a librarian using Skype




Loading...
